

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 21, 2019

Contact: Fiona Phelan Manager, Communications and Public Relations (203) 294-7206 Phelan@chime.org

The Connecticut Hospital Association Welcomes the Newly Elected Members of its Board of Trustees

WALLINGFORD – At the Connecticut Hospital Association (CHA) Annual Meeting on June 20, members elected trustees and officers for the CHA 2019-2020 Board of Trustees.

John F. Rodis, MD, President, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Patient Care Quality. David A. Whitehead, Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer, Hartford HealthCare, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Population Health. Elliot T. Joseph, Chief Executive Officer, Hartford HealthCare, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Hospital Finance. Marna P. Borgstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Yale New Haven Hospital and Yale New Haven Health, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Government. Vincent G. Capece Jr., President and CEO, Middlesex Health, was elected Executive Committee At Large Member.

Newly elected or reelected trustees include: Peter Adamo, President and CEO, Waterbury Hospital; Thomas J. Balcezak, MD, Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer, Yale New Haven Health; Judith A. Carey, RSM, PhD, Former Board Member, Trinity Health Of New England; Gil Peri, President, Chief Operating Officer, Connecticut Children's; Lynn Ricci, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hospital for Special Care; and Kathleen Silard, President and CEO, Stamford Health.

Other members of the 2019–2020 CHA Board include: Chairman John M. Murphy, MD, Chief Executive Officer, Nuvance Health; Vice Chairman and Treasurer Christopher M. O'Connor, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Yale New Haven Health; President and CEO Jennifer Jackson, Connecticut Hospital Association; DNS Board Chairman Patrick A. Charmel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Griffin Hospital; CEO Forum Chairman Kurt A. Barwis, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bristol Health; Rohit Bhalla, MD, Vice President, Quality and Chief Quality Officer, Stamford Health; Anne Diamond, JD, President and CEO, Day Kimball Healthcare; Jeffrey A. Flaks, President and Chief Operating Officer, Hartford HealthCare; Bimal Patel, President, Hartford HealthCare Hartford Region; Stuart E. Rosenberg, President, Johnson Memorial Hospital; and Ena Williams, Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, Yale New Haven Hospital.

About CHA

The Connecticut Hospital Association has been dedicated to serving Connecticut's hospitals and health systems since 1919. Through state and federal advocacy, CHA represents the interests of Connecticut's hospitals and health systems on key healthcare issues in the areas of quality and patient safety, access and coverage, workforce, community health, health equity, and hospital reimbursement.